OELMA Awards

Submission Deadlines

The award application/nomination window is February 15th through March 29th. All application materials for awards/scholarships must be submitted by 11:59 p.m. on March 29th. In the event that the award deadline is extended, members will be officially notified through the OELMA email list.

Selection Procedure

OELMA’s Awards Committee is charged with reviewing applications for all Association awards. The Committee is comprised of three OELMA members approved by the OELMA Board, Immediate Past President, Co-chairs of the Awards Committee approved by the OELMA Board, and the Director Liaison to Awards. The OELMA Board of Directors makes the final decision on all awards.  


Emerging Leader Award

The Emerging Leader Award recognizes OELMA members who have recently assumed a leadership role within the organization for the first time. This Award honors members who demonstrate leadership potential and encourages members’ active participation in OELMA.

More Information

Outstanding Administrator Award

The Outstanding Administrator Award recognizes an Ohio school administrator, who has made significant contributions to the planning, implementation, and/or support of school library programs, resulting in improved program quality and increased student learning.

More Information

Information Technology Innovation Award

The Information Technology Innovation Award recognizes OELMA members who design, develop, and implement innovative uses of technology for instructional purposes (classroom or professional development). This award spotlights the importance of emerging technologies in supporting learners.

More Information

Outstanding Contributor Award

The Outstanding Contributor Award honors an Ohio licensed school librarian who has made outstanding contributions to school librarianship. The honoree has demonstrated a long-term commitment to the school library profession, while serving in OELMA leadership roles.

More Information

Intellectual Freedom Award

The Intellectual Freedom Award recognizes Ohio school librarians and/or other Ohio educators who demonstrate support for the American Library Association’s principles of intellectual freedom.

More Information

Collaborative School Library Award

The Collaborative School Library Award recognizes and encourages collaboration and partnerships between school library media specialists and the school community through joint planning of a program, project, or event in support of the curriculum, using school library resources, and incorporating the AASL Standards (2017).

More Information

Leadership In Action Award

The Leadership In Action Award recognizes Ohio school librarians pursuing active leadership roles in local schools, in OELMA, and in national professional organizations (e.g. AASL, ALA). This award honors OELMA members demonstrating an ongoing commitment to leadership in the school library profession.

More Information

OELMA/Follett School Solutions Outstanding School Librarian Award

The OELMA/Follet School Solutions Outstanding School Librarian Award recognizes an Ohio licensed school librarian, who develops an exemplary school library program, collaborates with classroom teachers, implements technology-integrated instruction, and advocates for school libraries.

More Information