Award Nominations

It’s time to show off what you've been working so hard on! This year there will be a $50 application fee to submit nominations. This fee will directly fund this year’s student scholarships. This year, instead of two $2,000 student scholarships, we will be giving out three! The third scholarship, the $1,000 Diversity in the Environmental Profession AEP Scholarship, will be focused on supporting high school juniors and seniors interested in pursuing an education in environmentally related topics and will be given to a Black, Indigenous, and People of Color (BIPOC) recipient. This new scholarship is a specific action San Diego AEP is taking to promote and encourage BIPOC voices within our profession.

Individuals, firms, or agencies can submit nominations for themselves or for others for projects located in San Diego, Imperial, Orange, or Riverside counties. Individuals and firms are limited to one nomination per category. The AEP Awards Jury will not be accepting self-nominations in the Outstanding Contribution to the Environmental Profession category. The AEP Awards Jury will review the nominations and announce up to three finalists for consideration to receive each award, except the Outstanding Contribution to the Environmental Profession award, in which only one recipient will be selected. All winners will be kept confidential until announced at the event. Finalists that are not selected as the winner will receive a Meritorious Award and be recognized for their achievement. AEP reserves the right to decline to give out an award in any category if a sufficient quantity or quality of submittals is not received. Final details regarding awards presentation and format will be provided to the finalists no later than two weeks prior to the awards event. The winners will be announced at the awards event.

Send nominations to: Lisa Maier, Awards Committee Chairperson at

Details for each of the award categories can be found here. Click each of the categories below to download the respective nomination form:

Please direct any questions, concerns, or other inquiries regarding this process to Lisa Maier, Awards Committee Chairperson at